Dr. Suva with Students Receiving Awards

The 2019 CVM Graduate Student and Postdoc Research Symposium was help on January 17.  Congratulations to all of the trainees who presented and were engaged. It was a terrific day with great science, networking and success evident. VTPP trainees were especially visible, with strong presentations, presented professionally. Very well done to everyone.  The CVM banquet that same evening also highlighted the quality of our trainees.  The 2019 Symposium Platform Presentation award winner was Karis Tang-Quan (Mentor: Dr. Doris Taylor).  Karis also took home the people’s choice award as well! Equal second place went to Lauren Lewis (Mentor; Dr. Ivan Rusyn). Lauren in a student in the Physiology and Developmental Biology track.  Other winners included Connor Dolan (Mentor: Dr. Ken Muneoka), Keshav Karki (Mentor: Dr. Stephen Safe), Marcus Orzabal (Mentor: Dr. Jay Ramadoss) who all received awards for their 2018 first author publications.

The 2019 McCrady VTPP trainee awards were also given. These awards are given annually at the CVM Research symposium in recognition of Dr. James D. McCrady. Professor Emeritus, VTPP Texas A&M University. Thanks to Drs. Newell-Fugate, Clement, Ivanov and Long for their good work. This year, Connor Dolan (Mentor: Dr. Ken Muneoka) received the platform presentation award and Elena Martinez De Andino (Mentor: Dr. Katrin Hinrichs) the poster presentation award. The VTPP awards consist of a $500 travel award. Congratulations again to all VTPP trainees for showcasing their science with such professionalism and enthusiasm.

Congratulations to Raine Lunde (Mentor: Dr. Jay Ramadoss) on the funding success of her CVM-Graduate Student Research Trainee Grant proposal

Congratulations to Jingshu Chen (Co-Mentors: Dr. Yanan Tian & Dr. James Cai) on the funding success of her CVM-Graduate Student Research Trainee Grant proposal entitled “LncRNA MALAT1 regulates insulin signaling in a TDM2 mouse model: Mechanisms and therapeutic applications”

Congratulations to Megan Carugati, a CIMPIR program UG student (mentor: Dr. Shannon Washburn) who received a Texas Research Society on Alcoholism (TRSA) travel award to present her work at the 29th Annual TRSA Scientific Meeting, in San Antonio TX on February 8, 2019 Great accomplishment!

Congratulations to Raine Lunde and Dr. Ramadoss on the submission of an NIH F31 grant application entitled “Brain Circulatory Adaptations of Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders” The F31 was submitted in December 2018.